h1

News: Hugh Jackman

January 26, 2007

After this week’s The Fountain, and recent outings including Flushed Away, The Prestige and Happy Feet all having been released in the space of just a couple of months, Jackman’s really churning them out. His own X-Men spin-off, Wolverine, is due for 2008 as well – but it’s not all big blockbusters, as his lead role in Woody Allen’s Scoop (set in London but as yet not set for release in the UK) should attest.

Of Jackman’s other upcoming projects, most interesting are likely to be The Tourist, where he’ll play a lawyer who leads Ewan McGregor into a hidden world of sex and kidnapping, genius Chinese director Wong Kar-Wai’s 1930s-set The Lady From Shanghai (again opposite Rachel Weisz), and weirdo Aussie director Baz Lurhmann’s ambitious-sounding epic Australia, in which Jackman will star alongside fellow antipodean Nicole Kidman.

There’s also The Amateur, with Jackman playing a geeky CIA code cracker who turns himself into a killing machine when his wife is killed by terrorists, a small role in period piece A Plumm Summer, full-on action thriller Drive, with Jackman as a Hollywood stuntman trying to escape a hitman, romantic comedy Rebound Guy, and supernatural musical romance If You Could See Me Now – and that’s before you even start on the rumours of a remake of Oklahoma! with Jackman reprising the role that brought him such success on the London stage before Hollywood came a-calling.

Busiest man in Hollywood? He’s certainly a top contender. Does the guy even know how to say “no”?

One comment

  1. Would I love to see a remake of Oklahoma with Hugh playing Curley. This production on the London Stage in 1998 was awesome and it was the first time I had ever heard or seen Hugh Jackman. He became my number one performer from that moment replacing my favourite actor who was also handsome, dashing and charismatic whom I had remained faithful from childhood to 1998 but now he is number 2 and I and Hugh goes to a perfect No.1

    I was sad at the time because I thought I would never see him again after Oklahoma until my son let me borrow two of his DVD’s which was the X Men and X Men2. Blimey what a change but he was and still is fantastic in this role – so much character and I really believed in him after I had nearly fallen of my chair at seeing such a different man from Oklahoma. He is even extremely handsome with the Wolverine the ‘chops’

    He is a very talented and exciting actor who is handsome, chasismatic, wonderful sense of fun and very popular with his fellow thespians.

    He has a wonderful gift for lerning his scripts early so that he has more time to concentrate on the character and any accents that are required and I am sure this is what he will be doing in all of his future films.

    I certainly wish that a DVD of The Boy from Oz was available because there was no way I could get from the UK to see it or I most certainly would have been there.

    I am looking forward to all of his films his performances never disappoint and I have managed to collect all his films except one – which is very sad.



Leave a comment